All about Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse – Certified gastroenterology registered nurses (CGRN) assist doctors with procedures used to diagnose ailments of the stomach and bowels. Certified gastroenterology registered nurses are employed in hospitals and same-day surgery clinics, where they assist with procedures like colonoscopies and endoscopies.

All about Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse

All about Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse. Image: Houston Chronicle

Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse Education

Gastroenterology registered nurses are certified by the American Board of Certification for Gastroenterology Nurses. To qualify for the Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse (CGRN) certification, candidates must sit for an exam. Eligibility requirements for the exam include two years of full-time experience (or the part-time equivalent of 4,000 hours) in gastroenterology and gastroenterology endoscopy practice within the past five years. This experience must be in clinical, supervisory, administrative, educational, or research capacities, and must be verified by two gastroenterology practitioners, physicians, supervisors or human resource specialists.

Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse Career

A certified gastroenterology registered nurse’s work focuses on caring for patients as they undergo an endoscopy or colonoscopy. These nurses assess and prepare patients for their procedure. Registered nurses in this capacity might be responsible for administering medication before the treatment, and must monitor a patient’s vital signs while the physician performs the endoscopy or colonoscopy. Following the procedure, certified gastroenterology registered nurses must monitor the patient for any side effects resulting from the procedure or medication administered during it.

Take all free this career test at

Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse Salary

The average salary for certified gastroenterology registered nurses is $79,000 per year, but actual salaries vary widely according to location and education.

Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse Certification

American Board of Certification for Gastroenterology Nurses (ABCGN)

Type of Certification: Certified Gastroenterology Registered Nurse (CGRN)

Eligibility Requirements: To qualify for ABCGN examination, candidates must have two years full-time or equivalent part-time experience in clinical, supervisory, administrative, educational or research gastroenterology and gastroenterology endoscopy practice during the past five years. Two gastroenterology practitioners, physicians, supervisors, or human resource specialists must verify this experience.

Certification Process: Candidates may apply online. If applying online, the candidate must upload a copy of their nursing license. Application deadlines, test dates and the location of testing centers can be found online at ABCGN’s website.

Fees: $385 for non-members of the Society of Gastroenterology Nurses and Associates (SGNA)

Renewal Process: CGRN certification is valid for five years. Renewal applicants can re-certify through re-testing or contact hours. The process can be completed online or via mail with the paper application.

Share on Google+